Feni makes it five!

Feni

It was a sunny morning in the usually quiet village of Curtorim. I was eating my breakfast with my sister, Trikaya Ganesh. we were making plans for the day. The summer hols had just begun, so we could do whatever we wanted to, throughout the whole two months ahead. I was kind of missing my school life a bit, but anyway……

When I finished eating, I grabbed a Famous Five from the bookshelf and ran to my favorite rocking chair and settled down. My sister took the remote control and dived onto an easy chair. For the rest of the morning, I read my book and she watched T.V. It was very peaceful.  Then suddenly, I came across a part of the book where George, a character of the book, fondled and kissed her dog Timothy.It was then did I realize how much I missed my dog, Mohini.  I have always loved dogs. I play with any dog I meet. My karate sir, Sensei Shirish Thite, has four dogs. I play with them, too. I really wanted a dog more than anything in the world. Soon my sister and I got really got bored since I had finished my book and my sister found out than there was nothing nice coming on T.V. So the both of us decided to spend some time in our club house.

Our club house is nothing but a big patch of huge and old rocks. We had loads of fun and we were really tired out when we finally decided to head back home. Lunch was served soon after and the four of us, my parents, sister and I, relished our food. Soon after, my mom and dad decided to do some work on the computer. My sis and I were left with practically nothing to do.

Then, I remembered about having a dog. I ran to the study and pleaded with my mom about it. I had pleaded for a dog before, and all the time there were different replies. But this time it was something different. She said “If you really want a dog, then you and your sister write a letter to us telling us all your responsibilities when the dog arrives. And at the end, both of you sign your names, so that you don’t deny having written it later. Okay?’ I was extremely happy at this reply and kissed my mother on both her cheeks. I ran and took the colour pencils, sketch pens and an A4 sized sheet of paper. I wrote my note and added on a poem, written by myself.  Soon my sister ran and watched T.V. while I completed the letter. When it was finished, I ran to my mother to show it to her. She said it was very nice and kept it safely in her handbag. I ran to join my sister and the both of us watched on of our favorite shows, 1001 Nights. In the middle of it, my mom told us to get ready because we were going to go out. I wanted to know why,but as i went to ask her, she was talking on the phone.

I waited patiently, and soon enough, she ended the call. I seized the opportunity to speak to her. I said “Amma, where are we going?” She told me, and wasn’t I surprised when she said “We’re going to a lady’s house in Borda to see whether we can buy a dog suitable for us. Her dog has just had a litter. But we’re not buying it today, since appa is going on a business trip tomorrow and will be back in a week’s time. We shall buy the dog only then.”

 ^.^

Our car soon halted in front of the lady’s house. I was really excited. As I ran up the stair case, I thought about the fun we were going to have at home with the pup around. As I opened the main door, a whole gang of three pups ran to me and started licking me. I felt nice and warm. I then carried all the pups one by one and then I petted them, hugged them and everything else. I was pleased to find out that my favorite pup was the one we were taking home!I suddenly had an urge to ask my mother whether we could take the pup home today. I asked my mum and she agreed.

As we drove home, we bought a food and a water bowl, a collar and a leash. We planned on keeping the pup a secret from our dad since he was at home. But as I ran up the stairs, he told me that he  knew that we got the pup in our back seat.
That is how we got our wonderful Labrador, Feni!!!!!

All dressed up and nowhere to go!

 

10 thoughts on “Feni makes it five!

  1. Gani says:

    And that’s how parents are conned !!!. Good work Tuchi. Keep going. Looking forward to more posts from Chiqutam.

  2. Siddhartha says:

    That was such beautiful writing. It took me back to my childhood and now i miss my dog-brownie(he was a German shepherd) and how i used to play with it. 🙂

  3. sony says:

    HI Darling Trusha..

    lovely writeup and nice job on conning appa and amma.
    i observed you didnt leave any stone unturned to convey in your blog that your sister does nothing else but watch TV :-). heheh ahah..:-)) and you do all the work huh???
    Very nicely written.

    I hear you are also sticking to every word and more than that on your commitment of taking care of Feni… good job!

    and when are you bringing Feni to Bangalore to introduce us and Neo to her? Neo is desperately waiting to meet her and you gals..

    love you
    sony

    • Bennita says:

      Thank you aunty!
      I’ll try to come this summer or some time soon. But I am not sure whether we’ll make it because of Feni around. But we’ll surely try our best.
      Thanks once again!
      Tuchie!

  4. rajee says:

    Hi Trusha,
    That was the loveliest post ever … you do write beautifully. I really -really enjoyed it. Hope you have tons of things lined up to write about I sure will look forward to all the updates about the adventures of Trika-Trusha-Feni … 🙂
    Loads of love
    Sarah,Aimee,Sofiee,Sam uncle and Rajee Auntie

  5. Senthil says:

    Trusha, I am surprised with your post. What a great writing. I could see your face as i read through this post.

    Have a nice time with Feni. My hi to Trikaya. I missed wishing her on birthday. Say my sorry

  6. hAAthi says:

    Lovely writing Trusha! Was an absolute delight to see how Feni came into your home 🙂

    We hope to see you guys again soon..
    Love and take care
    Revati
    xoxxox

Let us know what you think!! [Unless it's negative. In that case, don't bother :P]

