Adventures of a rainy day.

My van. Can you even think of  a better one? My driver is the best driver in the whole wide world. He buys us chewing-gums and chocolates and candies. He even brought us rings, on children’s day. He’s the best.

It was a freezing Friday morning, since it had been pouring the whole night. I was dressing up while my sister was busy snoozing in bed. I wish I was like her and had high temperature fever. I was kind of jealous, too. She was getting all the attention and I was left alone in a corner to cry, laugh, party, paint or dance by myself, or so I thought. I buttoned up my T-shirt, and put on my pinafore. I dashed out of y room, grabbing my schoolbag, as I heard my drier’s horn. Between gulps of my milk, I waved and shouted goodbye to my parents, My sister and Feni, my pup.

My driver, Zafar uncle, took my bag, kept it in the boot. I greeted my van mates and entered it. Soon we were zooming past the trees, houses and roads. We soon picked up the last child and headed to school. As I ran up the stairs, the bell rang. ‘Just in time!’ I thought to myself. ‘Teacher, please may I come in.’ I chanted as I reached my class. My teacher nodded her head, and I walked to my desk.

In the middle of the first or second period, while we were going through the current English lesson, ‘Trapped”, a boy’s uncle came to collect him. But in the end the boy didn’t go home, and he was very, extremely disappointed. ‘But why would you want to go home when all your friends would be at school?’ asked my teacher. The boy didn’t reply.

At our first break, after three periods, while I was eating my tiffin-box, my van mate, Diela Dias, shouted to me. ‘Zafar uncle’s waiting for us downstairs. Quickly pack your bag and come. There’s going to be a heavy downpour,and he wants us to reach home before that.’ I didn’t understand anything since There was so much noise going on in my class and I couldn’t hear her.  But, I did know that I had to pack my bag and head downstairs.
Soon the car was about to start. We were still in the school campus, and there was a light drizzle when, our van’s right back tire got punctured. We were loaded on a yellow bus for shelter (it belongs to my Zafar uncle’s friend) since many of us didn’t bring umbrellas. Soon, the tire was repaired and we set off, once again. We soon dropped everyone, but three. I was one of them, of course. I was the next  one to be dropped. We were about two kilometers away from my house and four kilometers from the last boy’s, when we heard a loud explosion and found out that the left back tire was punctured. (This was a world record of two genuine tire punctures in a day.)

Thankfully, there was a tyre shop just opposite. I ran to it and was told that they didn’t do car tyres. I came back to the van, and told my uncle what the shop had told me. He began to look a bit worried. Thankfully, just then a helpful man told Zafar uncle that he’d drop him to the next most near tire shop he knew of. Uncle gladly mounted the bike with his tyre and left us on the road. I phoned my mother and told her where. She said she’d come to pick me up right away. Then, we spotted uncle’s mobile. We grinned to each other. We all knew what was going on in each others mind.

Soon after, while we were playing with uncle’s phone (which, by the way, was what we had in mind), a strange man walking on the road with an umbrella in his hand, though it wasn’t raining and a news paper in his other hand, peeped in one of our van’s window and asked us to dial a weird number starting with 2. I pretended like I was dialing it and told him that it wasn’t reachable. I repeated this many times. t last he got angry. He was almost going to grab the phone, when I said I’ll try again. I actually dialed my mom’s cell number and put the mobile close to my ear. It started ringing and my mom’s  voice was heard at the other end of the mobile. I told her what was going on.
‘Mom!’ I said (this is the conversation we were having on the phone). ‘There’s this weird man standing near Zafar uncle’s window, and he’s asking us to dial this weird number.Could you please talk to him a sec and tell him that we won’t dial his number?’ My mom said ‘I’m just on the way why don’t you wait…..’ But the man had already disappeared.
I said ‘Never mind, he’s gone.’ My mom hung up after a hurried goodbye. Soon my driver came back, and immediately after that, my mom came. I went home after that and sat down to do my homework, since there was still an hour to go for lunch. I finished it in about half an hour, and then sat down on the laptop. I thought that my adventures for the day were over, but no! I was wrong!

Just after that, while I was still on the net, my best van friend forever, Michelle Rebbeca D’costa called, and after I poured out the whole story of the day to her, she told me a very extremely wonderful piece of news! Guess what? I was going to go with her to a camp! It was Saturday to Sunday. Her mom was coming with us and so was her brother and her little sister. My grandfather was going to come with me, and we were going out of station to Maharashtra! Fifteen other people were going to accompany us (twenty, all together).  Yeah!

Read the rest of it in my next blog post, Saturday’s pinks!!!

2 thoughts on “Adventures of a rainy day.

Let us know what you think!! [Unless it's negative. In that case, don't bother :P]

