Karate Kid

Another sunny morning at Goa. It would’ve be another usual day, that is if not for my Karate exam! Time just flew by, and it feels like I got my orange belt just yesterday. But today, I would be getting my green belt! I become a  senior once I’ve got my green belt, in Karate terms. I quickly gobbled up my bananas and sandwiches and rushed to the bathroom for my bath.

My mom had woken up and was untying Feni from the table to go for her morning stroll. I quickly dressed up and took the car keys from the basket of keys. My mother was now taking her water bottle from the refrigerator. My sister (who had woken up) was dressing up.My mom went to our garage and entered the car.My mom reversed the car, and I entered it, followed by my sister. We made a dash for it. It was 7-47, I had just enough time to reach karate class at 8-00.

^.^

‘All the best! And remember those few mistakes you made yesterday. Bye’ My mom said as I stepped out of the car. We had reached my karate sir’s house, the place where the exam would be conducted this time. Samni, a little girl who is five and who is in my karate class, had reached the same time as me. I took her and and the both of us climbed the stairs of sir’s building, in order to reach his flat.

As we reached, we took out our slippers and started our warm up. Most of the children were already sitting, since they had finished their warm up exercises. Soon my warm up was done so  I sat down next to the senior most student, and all so my best friend in karate class, Prathicksha. She’s just six, and she’s already got her maroon belt. She’s appearing for her purple belt, the next belt, exam. She has the highest belt in class.

The white belts were told to stand up. Most of the white belts were not known to me, because my teacher takes another batch of students and trains them separately. The only two white-belts from our class were Ishan, a totally-too-cute 3-4 year old boy, and Samni, the 5 year old girl I helped up the stairs. They were definitely the most cute white belts that exam. When they were asked individually to do the different stances, surprisingly, Ishan and Samni knew them all! And the two of them even knew all of the standing basics! It was so amazing to watch the two performing so well. I mean, who would’ve thought that they had the capacity to remember so much? Not me, or any other student in my karate class for sure!

The smaller white belts, including the Ishan and Samni, were to go home at 10-00 while the seniors like me and the rest were to stay on till 12-00. Our karate teacher had told each of us (and our parents, too) specifically not to drink milk or eat anything heavy that morning, but we had to eat something one hour before coming, but one boy in our class decided to eat French toast for breakfast, and before we knew it, he vomited it all out.

Our karate’s teachers flat is rather tiny, so we were all rushed out of the room. Some of us naughty ones decided to do a bit of exploring, so we wet up the stairs a bit higher up and saw the house of a man called Vikram Singh. On further exploring, we found the main door wide open and many pairs of foot ware outside it. We all crowded near the door and found a big LCD T.V. There was also a big aquarium by it’s side. It was a very attractive aquarium, though. I wanted to be on the safer side and skipped downstairs while a few other children were still gaping at the house.

Soon enough, everyone was down at the staircase like me. Our teacher called us back in. The vomit was cleaned. The poor boy was feeling quite feverish. I felt pity on him. Then came the time for the yellow belts to do their stances and standing basics. There were a few errors, of course, but all in all, the yellow belts did quite well. Then the white belts had to do their kathas, which are a series of defenses and attacks.

Apart from Ishan and Samni, there were two other small white belts. They first did their kathas. It was quite good, for beginners. Then came the time for Ishan and Samni to do their kathas. It was hilarious. The both of them had to do it together, because they were still really small. Ishan took hold of Samni’s hand and both of them went to the center of sir’s tiny hall. Teacher told them, ‘Do how much ever you can. Okay?’ Ishan nodded his head.

He bowed and then started the Katha. He did some sort of vague step after step, and after a few pauses he turned to Samni, who was standing like a statue since she didn’t know anything, ‘What are you doing?’ he shouted at her, sending the class into fits of laughter. Even teacher had to smile. Samni promptly followed every move that Ishan made. Together, they were a sight. Soon, Ishan nodded his head, bowed once again, and went back to his place, with Samni close behind.

Now came the serious bit, the junior fight. Ishan had to fight with a bigger boy, but you can guess who won. Ishan, of course. The bigger boy wasn’t paying attention, when Ishan gave him a very powerful punch. The bigger boy almost fell down. It was a great and fair fight.

Now, finally, it was the time that teacher would tell us the marks of the smallest white belts. This is the scheme-
60-69 marks.-bronze medal.

70-79 marks-silver medal.

80-100 marsks.gold medal.

And you need a score of at least 40 to pass.

The two girls apart from Ishan and Samni both got 40-45 marks.But here comes the surprising news. Samni got 60 marks and Ishan got 70!! Can you believe it? Such a small chap, getting 70? Out of this world. I was aiming for gold medal, though.

Coming back to the exam…

Now came the time for seniors to do their stances. I was fourth one to be called, so I had people doing their stances before and after me. Very soon, I was called in the middle of the hall. I stood there and bowed. Then I held my belt and got ready for my stances. My teacher kept calling out different names, I kept doing them. Finally I went back to my place. Then we were called one by one for our standing basics. I did that pretty well, I think.

After that we were called for Kihon. Kihon means going in front with your kick or punch. I got stuck at the part where teacher told me to do the back kick. As far as I remember, teacher had never thought it to me, so I told it to her. But she objected and said that she knew that she had thought it to me. So I just kept quite.

Shortly after Kihon, we had to do Katha, my favorite bit. My strong point is the Katha of the exam. I did it really well, and my loud voice is like a power supply. I sat down after my three Kathas, satisfied. Then came the main part of the exam. The fight. all the seniors had to fight with Ravi, the biggest boy in class (14 years). I had to fight with him second. I don’t know how I managed it, but I won. I t was 4/2. Ravi got 2 and I got 4.

I had to fight with a few others and won every match. It was loads of fun. Then came makhiwara, when you have to punch and kick bags. My round kick came surprisingly well. That was followed by conditioning.

I did less than what I was supposed to do because I have asthma and was hospitalized not a week ago (actually exactly a week ago). Then came the most important and serious bit. the marks were read out. Ravi got 60 and a bronze medal. The boy who got sixty last exam got 52 or something like that. Prathicksha got 50. And I got, guess what?

70!!

I got the most marks in class, of course, tied with Ishan! But I did! Yey!

KARATE IS THE BEST!!!!

2 thoughts on “Karate Kid

  1. sony says:

    Sweet heart.. all the trouble and time you’ve been taking to acquire all those different colour belts.. yellow, purple , green, white,orange. etc etc..

    darling i just go to the shop and buy them all in one shot… 🙂
    infact you can choose different styles and shades of colours too. heheh :-))

    Good writing and keep it up…. have loads and loads and loads of fun….
    love
    sony

Let us know what you think!! [Unless it's negative. In that case, don't bother :P]

