Once upon a time…*Sigh*

Once upon a time, I was what every girl wants to be. The best at EVERYTHING. I was the star of the football team, 10/10 student, karate sir’s best pupil, music sir’s pet, class teacher’s “angel,” Feni’s master, my sisters role model, national gold medalist… I wasn’t able to do anything wrong!

Now all I can say is its totally different. I’m still a national gold medalist, the star of my football team, teachers “angel” and music sir’s pet. But I’m not Feni’s master, my sister’s role model, karate sir’s best pupil or a 10/10 student (I’m now a 9/10 student. I’m among karate sir’s top 5, but not the best. Feni kind of listen’s to me, but mom’s the master, and I fight too much with my sister to be her role model. Why me?).

My heart let’s out a long groan when I see a 9/10 or 9 and a 1/2 on top of my test paper. Why couldn’t it be a ten? AAAH! This is so frustrating! And when I see my sister admiring someone as much as she used to admire me, (even though I don’t let it show) I feel like I’m no longer a good sister (not that I ever was. 🙂 ). Feni sometimes ignores my frantic shouts for her. Like as if she’s superior to me! Talk about attitude! And about karate? Well, here’s a detailed story of my thoughts before class:

Get this straight, before the competition and my long SIX MONTH (can you BELIEVE it?) break, I was known as Trusha, the Terror in my karate class. Want to know why? Because I used to beat every single opponent standing in front of me. Boys and girls. (Except Raymond, the biggest guy in class. Come on, he’s fifteen going on sixteen, and I’m a shrimp of ten. But I DID best him once.) Now, the tables were turned. After my long holiday which, my mom forced me to take, there was a new terror in class, Samuel Jackson. He doesn’t exactly show technique, but once you step in front of him, he blindly starts punching and kicking. I couldn’t beat him. It seemed impossible. Even Raymond seemed a bit intimidated in front of him! Serena, the timid, easy-to-fight yellow belt beat me twice! I couldn’t believe it! What was happening? Why was this happening to ME?? I spoke to mom about this. She told me that maybe my asthma (its an inflammatory disease of the airways , and that causes me to pant for breath and wheeze many a time) may be a blessing in disguise. I understood what she meant immediately! Everything that I ever wanted, I could get if I just tried a little hard. That was the problem. I never had to strain and struggle like the others had to. Now was my turn. So I gathered up all my determination, and boldly stepped into class. (Actually, not so boldly. I had cried just before reaching, because I was so nervous of letting my sir down.) There, I took my place, and was surprised to see a guy with three Black Belts sitting next to me. He looked like in his early twenties. I somehow got the urge to impress him, so I tried my hardest x10 that class. It paid off. I not only beat Samuel, but managed to defeat Serena leisurely. The score was 4-2! I learned that she wasn’t a difficult opponent at all! It was a bit of strain to beat Samuel, but I did. 3-2. I was quite satisfied with myself, and learned that I still could do it, only if I put my mind at it. Now, I’m improving. I’ve become one of sir’s top 5. But my aim is to become his best.

Liked the story? Well, I kind of like it too! (Laughs)

I guess the lesson is, keep trying. You never know when luck will side you. I’m happy to report that after the two fights that I lost with Serena, I never lost to her again. That was quite easy, actually. And in December, I’m going to Singapore for the Internationals! Yaay! Plus, in August, I’m directly getting my purple belt, skipping my blue and maroon belt. Sir says he’s letting me do that because of the drastic improvement! And after coming back from the nationals in October, I’m going to receive my brown belt. Zoo-Wee-Mama! Then, In 2013, I may get my black belt, sir says.

But, all said, I still have to get my belts. So for now, its just hard work and devotion. I think I can manage that. I’m definitely going to raise my average from 9/10 to 10/10, with a lot of pouring over books. And if I could say one thing to life, it would be:

BRING IT ON!

2 thoughts on “Once upon a time…*Sigh*

Let us know what you think!! [Unless it's negative. In that case, don't bother :P]

