CoraLisa [The Horror Continues…]

When she invited me to her house after about fifteen days since I moved to the States, I was ECSTATIC. The long walk to her home didn’t dampen my excitement, it made me more eager to spend the day at Cora’s place. I couldn’t believe I was actually called over to someone’s house ALREADY.

Although I was a it shaken by the gloomy paint slathered on the exterior walls of her residence, my tummy wouldn’t stop flipping. I was THAT happy.

I should have know something was up when Cora gave me a lame excuse as to where her Mom was [‘Um… she’s like, REALLY sick, or something, so she had to go to this place…] but I guess my joy made it hard for me to concentrate on anything except for proud MY mother would be when I spoke to her about my American pal.

Stepping into the dining room gave me a funny feeling, like as if I was acting in a monochromatic movie from the 80′s. ‘Wanna’ go freshen up??’ Cora asked me, her teeth chomping hard on a fresh, juicy apple. A fresh, juicy BLACK apple.

‘Sure,’ I shrugged, dumping my bag onto a zebra-skinned sofa.

I climbed the sleek staircase, chanting ‘sixth door to the left, sixth door to the left’ in my head. Once at the said destination, I pushed open the panel…

… Only to come face-to-face with CoraLisa’s bedroom. ‘Oops, wrong door,’ I breathed, and was about to go along my merry way when I spotted a bright yellow book with the word “DIARY” embossed on the front.

‘Color,’ I dreamily sighed, going closer to the book. The beautiful, sunshiney shade made it hard for me to resist a closer inspection. Being deprived of the blues and the reds and the greens isn’t as easy as you’d suspect.

Before I knew it, I’d planted myself on the furry mattress and was leafing through Cora’s journal. The latest entry caught my eye;

26TH JUNE, THURSDAY

FOR THE FIRST TIME I MY LIFE, I HAVE SUCCEEDED IN SLIPPING MY SOUL INTO LIFELESS OBJECTS. IT TOOK A LOT OF ENERGY AND ALMOST MADE ME CRACK, BUT I DID IT.

THIS IS A TRICK THAT WILL OPEN UP A LOT OF NEW OPPORTUNITIES FOR ME. THE COURT WILL HAVE TO SIT UP AND TAKE NOTICE. THEY WILL HAVE TO.

ON A LIGHTER TOPIC, I’M BRINGING A FELLOW-CLASSMATE HOME FROM SCHOOL TOMORROW. SHE SEEMS YOUNG AND FORGETTABLE ENOUGH. DAD ALWAYS SAID THAT ROAST HUMAN IS BEYOND COMPARE.

Just as the last paragraph registered itself in my mind, CoraLisa burst into the room, her eyes full of rage. She rasped, ‘You know too much,’ before I was plunged into an unbearable thick layer of darkness…

___

I’m stuck here now, for goodness knows how long. Probably all eternity.

The place stinks of rotten egg salad and I don’t remember the last time I breathed in a lungful of fresh, outdoor air, scented with apricots and autumn and rainbows.

That isn’t the point, though.

The point is that I’m never getting out of here, never EVER.

I always knew CoraLisa was different, and now I wish I’d known by how much…

Fin

2 thoughts on “CoraLisa [The Horror Continues…]

Let us know what you think!! [Unless it's negative. In that case, don't bother :P]

