Kaleidoscopic Kerala: A Trip To God’s Own Country – DAY 1

DAY 1- KOCHI: TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE

“Pinch me, hard, because I’m pretty sure I’m dreaming. It’s only logical. I mean, have I ever been so unexpectedly thrust into such a perfect situation before? Has ANYONE??”

Thoughts like these swarmed through my mind -like cops at a crime scene- as I hauled my 100-kilo [or so it seemed] backpack into my- sorry, sorry, into OUR room. “Our” as in mine… AND my best friends’.

SQUEEE!!

Unfortunately, I had next to no time to mull over this exhilarating series of events, because before I so much as splashed some water on my face I was being hurried out of the chamber by a distraught-looking teacher [hey, being in charge of nearly fifty unruly students is NO JOKE!]

Turns out, I was going to get much more than a “splash” of water on the face because we were going on a boat ride! As we glided along the aquamarine waters and stared in awe as the Sun fused itself with the horizon; chic skyscrapers, glamorous buildings and quaint boutiques unveiled themselves along the river banks, making us one crazily excited bunch when the teachers informed us that they’d scheduled a stopover at the nearby LuLu Shopping Center for some retail therapy before we returned to the hotel.

Of course, the mall was a dream come true for us country bumpkins. It was glitzy and swanky and shiny and such a refreshing change from our usual after-school haunts.

Exhausted but incredibly content, we trooped back to the entrance of LuLu around 120 minutes later, armed with brimming shopping bags and sunshiny smiles.

Dinner back at our hotel was delicious and the perfect end to a perfect day. As I tucked myself into bed that night, I couldn’t help but get super excited for the rest of the trip.

4 thoughts on “Kaleidoscopic Kerala: A Trip To God’s Own Country – DAY 1

Let us know what you think!! [Unless it's negative. In that case, don't bother :P]

